Régis Huby Sextet "Simple Sound" (2007)

Régis Huby Sextet  "Simple Sound"  (2007)

Régis Huby - « Simple Sound »

Régis Huby - Violin 
Alain Grange - Cello
Bruno Chevillon - Double bass
Catherine Delaunay - Bb Clarinet
Roland Pinsard - Bass Clarinet
Olivier Benoit - Electric Guitar

Régis Huby cherche à développer une parole musicale authentique, intérieure. Simple Sound est un magnifique exemple d’une composition aboutie, raffinée et épurée. La collaboration avec Alain Grange, Bruno Chevillon, Olivier Benoît, Catherine Delaunay et Roland Pinsard est remarquable d’unité.

“Ils ont en commun l’envie de rapprocher des espaces disjoints: le Jazz, la musique contemporaine, les grands minimalistes. Peut-être sont-ils en train de créer l’impossible, une globalisation heureuse. Voici l’oeuvre de joie, l’opus qui transgresse la nocive hiérarchie des genres. “ (Guy Darol, Jazzmag)

"This is a hard to pigenhole record, blending chamber jazz, avant-garde jazz with modern classical music with at times European folk ingredients. The band consists of Régis Huby on violin, Alain Grange cello, Bruno Chevillon on bass, Olivier Benoit on electric guitar, Catherine Delaunay on clarinet and Roland Pinsard on bass clarinet. Every piece is completely composed, with lots of contrapuntual and often sophisticated arrangements for the strings, full of rhythm and tempo changes, yet offering freedom for the soloists to improvise. In his compositions, Huby is a master in creating tension and release : repetitive figures, often reminiscent of Steve Reich, played in unisono with lots of dramatic power are reacted upon by the other instruments in the same vein, driving the composition to moments of climax, yet never exploding but changing unexpectedly into slow and sweet melodic interplay and than back into an overdrive forward movement. The contrast between the strings and the rawness of the electric guitar or the bass clarinet is strong, giving the music extra power and depth. The musicians are absolutely stellar, and their genre-blending skills are amazing, moving from one to the other while maintaining a high quality performance in each. The music too shifts from one mood and mode to the other : accessible with claws, sweet with a angry attitude, reverent and iconoclastic, hypnotic and refreshing, serious yet light. A musical adventure. Fans of John Zorn's string ensemble or of Bang On A Can will love this." (Freejazz Blog )